OTooles boycott leaves security panel of parliamen

  • Detail
O'Toole's boycott leaves security panel of parliamentarians with no Conservative MPs - Today News Post News Today || Canada News |

There are no Conservative MPs among the newly named slate of parliamentarians to oversee the security-and-intelligence community following the party’s decision to boycott the bodyThe ministry wanted to get ahead of possible news coverage..

The government says Liberal MPs Patricia Lattanzio and James Maloney are joining the committee, while Liberals Brenda Shanahan and Peter Fragiskatos, as well as Conservatives Leona Alleslev and Rob Morrison, have leftlastmodifiedepoch.

Conservative Leader Erin O’Toole pulled his party’s MPs from the committee last spring to protest the Liberal government’s refusal to hand over unredacted documents related to the firing of two scientists from Canada’s highest-security laboratory.

In a DecIn a statement fro. 17 letter to Prime Minister Justin Trudeau, O’Toole said the Conservative boycott of the all-party National Security and Intelligence Committee of Parliamentarians, known as NSICOP, would continue in the new session of Parliament until the wraps are taken off those documents.

Copyright © 2011 JIN SHI